Hagersville athletes awarded Ontario Hockey Federation scholarships

Hagersville athletes awarded Ontario Hockey Federation scholarships
HAGERSVILLE—Ontario Hockey Federation scholarship recipients Travis Phibbs (left) and Alastair Irvine (right) are pictured outside the Hagersville Memorial Arena with Todd DeMille (centre), their coach for the 2019-20 season. —Haldimand Press photo by Sheila Phibbs.

By Sheila Phibbs

The Haldimand Press

HAGERSVILLE—Each year the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF) awards 30 scholarships in recognition of commitment at the arena and in the classroom.

For 2020, two of the recipients have their home ice at the Hagersville Arena – Alastair Irvine of the Hagersville Hawks Jr. C team in the Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) and Travis Phibbs of the Hagersville Minor Hockey Association (HMHA) Midget Rep team in the Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA).

Both Irvine and Phibbs began playing in Hagersville as Tykes and quickly developed a high level of skill and sportsmanship as a defenseman and centre, respectively.

They were teammates for many years before Irvine moved to playat the AAA level with the Hamilton Bulldogs and then the Brantford ‘99ers.

This content is for Online-Subscribers only.
Log In Subscribe