Haldimand Norfolk moving to Orange level reopening Tuesday

HALDIMAND—On Friday, February 12, Premier Doug Ford announced that Haldimand County will move into the ‘orange’ or ‘restrict’ stage of the Province’s colour-coded re-opening framework as of February 16, 2020 at 12:01am.

The move, made in consultation with Ontario’s Chief Medical Officer of Health, is transitioning 27 public health regions out of the shutdown and into a revised and strengthened COVID-19 Response Framework: Keeping Ontario Safe and Open . It was based on a general improvement in trends of key indicators, including lower transmission of COVID-19, improving hospital capacity, and available public health capacity to conduct rapid case and contact management.  

There are many changes under ‘orange’ stage rules, including the re-opening of indoor dining, gyms, and personal care services with restrictions and capacity limits. More information and sector-specific guidelines for re-opening businesses within the ‘orange’ stage are available on the Province of Ontario’s website.

The re-opening announced today is a positive response to the efforts taken by citizens and businesses to reduce transmission of the virus. Even though the stay-at-home will expire on Tuesday, it is important to recognize that the use of masks, hand washing, social distancing and reducing non-essential travel will continue to be required under provincial safety protocols, particularly as new variants of the COVID-19 virus emerge.

County staff will continue working closely with public health to monitor and respond to the local COVID-19 situation. Updates related to municipal services will be shared with the community as required and continue to be posted regularly at HaldimandCounty.ca/COVID-19.

If you have questions about what will be open or impacts to your business or employment, call the Stop the Spread Business Information Line at 1-888-444-3659. In addition to provincial restrictions, local health units can implement restrictions above or beyond those of the province.

In surrounding health units, Brant County Health Unit is also in Orange – Restrict, Southwestern Public Health is in Red – Control and Niagara Region Public Health is in Grey – Lockdown. 

The full breakdown is: 


  • Niagara Region Public Health     


  • Chatham-Kent Public Health;
  • City of Hamilton Public Health Services;
  • Durham Region Health Department;
  • Halton Region Public Health;
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit;
  • Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services;
  • Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit;
  • Southwestern Public Health;
  • Thunder Bay District Health Unit;
  • Wellington-Dufferin Guelph Public Health; and
  • Windsor-Essex County Health Unit.


  • Brant County Health Unit;
  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit;
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit;
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit;
  • Huron Perth Public Health;
  • Lambton Public Health;
  • Ottawa Public Health;
  • Porcupine Health Unit; and
  • Public Health Sudbury and Districts.


  • Algoma Public Health;
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit;
  • Northwestern Health Unit; and
  • Peterborough Public Health.


  • Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit; and
  • Timiskaming Health Unit.

The four remaining public health regions, Toronto Public Health, Peel Public Health, York Region Public Health and North Bay Parry Sound District, will remain in the shutdown, and the Stay-at-Home order and all existing public health and workplace safety measures will continue to apply to these four public health regions.     

Leave a comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *