Hagersville’s Volunteer Recognition and Awards Night

Hagersville’s Volunteer Recognition and Awards Night
Warren Burger (second from right) is shown accepting his Citizen of the Year award alongside his wife Marlene from Rob Phillips, President of the Hagersville Chamber (left), and Mayor Ken Hewitt.

By Kaitlyn Clark

The Haldimand Press

HAGERSVILLE—The Hagersville Chamber of Commerce hosted their annual Volunteer Awards on April 11, 2019. Warren Burger was announced as the Citizen of the Year, Mackenzie Visser as the Junior Citizen of the Year, and Pharmasave as the Business of the Year.

Citizen of the Year: Warren Burger

Warren Burger was born in Hagersville and raised in Hamilton. He returned in June 1966 to join the Hagersville Police Department and in 1971, at age 28, he became the youngest police chief in Canada at the time. He has been an active volunteer, motivational speaker, humourist, auctioneer, and more for charitable organizations, serving on several boards and committees both locally and beyond. “I feel very honoured,” said Burger. “When the community takes ownership, you will never fail … If you do things because they’re right, you’ll be successful.”

Junior Citizen of the Year: Mackenzie Visser

Mackenzie Visser, student at Hagersville Secondary, has been a member of the Crime Stoppers program all four years, becoming a co-chair this year. Along with the many activities she volunteers with through HSS and Crime Stoppers, she has also volunteered with food banks and with the Parent Council of her elementary school, Walpole North. Mackenzie was recently featured in The Press as well as a Nifty Knitter, as she and her grandfather knit 321 hats for newborns. Visser said, “This award is such an honour. Thank you to the school for the opportunity to give back. It’s just so awesome.”

Business of the Year: Pharmasave

Pieter Wonder came to Hagersville in 1983 to work at the local pharmacy. In 1991, he purchased the store from his former employer and in 1997 he joined the Pharmasave franchise. Pieter is now a board member of the Hagersville Food Bank, Chair of the West Haldimand Hospital & Healthcare Foundation, and strong supporter of the Foundation’s annual auction. Pieter and his wife, Trixie, will be retiring this year as they hand the reins to one of their employees. He said, “A standing ovation is quite something, overwhelming, humbling … It’s been such a blessing and honour to have a pharmacy here all these years.”

Mackenzie Visser was given the Junior Citizen of the Year award (second from left). Teacher Anthony Whitman (right) spoke of her accomplishments and presented the award with Councillor Tony Dalimonte and Rob Phillips, President of the Hagersville Chamber.
The Business of the Year Award went to Pieter Wonder of Pharmasave (second from right). Ed McCarthy (left) spoke of Pieter's accomplishments and presented the award with Councillor Tony Dalimonte and Rob Phillips, President of the Hagersville Chamber.
Rob Phillips with members of the churches that were recognized.
Rob Phillips with members of the youth and minor sports groups that were recognized.
Rob Phillips with members the community service organizations that were recognized.
Rob Phillips with representatives of the health service organizations that were recognized.
Rob Phillips with representatives of the Twinkle Lights Committee.
Rob Phillips with representatives of the Flower Committee.
Hagersville Rocks Committee members Rob Phillips, Tanya Ribbink, and Valerie Phillips. This will be the sixth annual festival and the second year with two days of entertainment.
Rob Phillips with Bonnie McKinnon and Barb Gee, Evening with Santa Co-Chairs.
Rob Phillips and Daniel Schweyer, Flower/Planter Maintenance.

The Chamber also presented Certificates of Appreciation to the following:


All Saints Anglican Church

Assembly of Friends – Congregation

Assembly of Friends – Janet Bonney Friendship Group

Hagersville Baptist Church

Hagersville Community Christian Reformed Church

Hagersville United Church

Highway Church

St Andrews Presbyterian Church Board of Managers

St Andrews Presbyterian Church Jessie Gordon Presbyterian Women

St Mary’s & St Ann’s Catholic Women’s League


Hagersville & District Girl Guides

Hagersville & District Minor Ball Association

Hagersville & District Minor Hockey Association

1st Hagersville Scouting – Beavers, Cubs, Scouts, Venturers and Rovers

Hagersville Arena Expansion Committee

Hagersville Skating Club

Haldimand 4 H Association

Haldimand Girls Hockey Association

Haldimand Youth Soccer Association


100 Women Who Care Haldimand

Community & Children’s Safety Village of Haldimand-Norfolk

Forward Rebekah Lodge

Hagersville & District Lions Club

Hagersville Elementary School Parent Council

Hagersville Firefighters Station 2

Hagersville Food Bank

Hagersville Knights of Columbus

Hagersville Secondary School CrimeStoppers

Haldimand Agstravaganza

Haldimand Norfolk Concert Band

Hiram Masonic Lodge No. 319

HSS School Council

Royal Canadian Legion Branch 164

Royal Canadian Legion Branch 164 Ladies Auxiliary

St. Mary’s Catholic Elementary School Parent Council

Victim Services of Haldimand, Norfolk & New Credit

Whispering Hearts Horse Rescue


Haldimand Abilities Centre

Haldimand Family Health Team Board

Haldimand-Norfolk Community Senior Support Services

March of Dimes

Powerhouse Project – Young Carers Initiative

West Haldimand General Hospital Auxiliary

West Haldimand General Hospital Board of Governors

West Haldimand Hospital and Healthcare Foundation


Greg & Bernie Thomas

Angie Schweyer

Barb Gee

Cameron Thomas

Tony Dalimonte


Darlene Johnston

Alicia Campbell

Barb Gee

Cam Johnston

Mike Liscombe

Carrie Cronk


Alicia Hintenberger

John Elder

Robert Phillips – 2018 Chairperson/Treasurer

Samantha Purvis-Johnston

Shannon Veri

Tanya Ribbink – 2018 Vice-Chairperson

Valerie Phillips – Secretary

Additional Certificates

Tim Otterman – Santa Claus Parade Chairperson

Bonnie McKinnon – Evening with Santa Co-Chairperson

Barb Gee – Evening with Santa Co-Chairperson

Charlie & Barbara Jean Garvie – Community Centre / Ornament Donors

Karen Leatherbarrow – Community Centre

Daniel Schweyer – Flower/Planter Maintenance

Leave a comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *